visit360.net, the guide to wonders of the world in 360°
Off the beaten track
Also called as the church of Santa Rita, the tiny Romanesque San Faustino is a real gem compressed between residential buildings.
This is a seldom visited and totally unique sight in Bergamo, a 12th century judgment hall of the bishop containing interesting medieval frescoes. Since the 10th century the bishop had the right to administer all justice, criminal and civil within the walls of the city.
It is an important Romanesque-Gothic church from the 13th century adorned with 14-16th century frescoes and masterpieces by Moretto and Romanino.
The Cave of the Seven Sleepers (Ahl al-Kahf in Arabic) is a famous pilgrimage site in the outskirts of Amman, just about 7km from city centre.
It is associated with a common story of Christianity and Islam that gradually faded away and got forgotten by most Christians. However, Holy Qur’an still preserves this story in Surah al-Kahf 18 (the cave).
We have to note that this is just one of the places that claim to be the cave of the seven sleepers, and the most famous one is located at Ephesus, Turkey.
Large megalithic stone blocks, Hittite lion carvings mixed with elements of Greco-Roman architecture – these are the characteristics of an extraordinary and yet controversial building in Iraq-al Amir (Arak-el-Emir ). Nothing is 100% sure about this building except for one thing – there are simply no similar structures not just in Jordan, but also in the entire Middle-East.
Nyíracsád is famous for its late romanesque - early gothic style church which was built during the 13th century. Its structure resembles churches of County Szatmár but it is located in County Hajdú-Bihar. In fact it is the oldest, still used church of the county. Originally it was a roman-catholic church which has been used by the protestants since 1567. Its latest interior and exterior reconstruction was finished in 1995, it also included the construction of a new vestry and bell-tower.
Tegularium is a Brick Museum, an independent section of the Hungarian Building Industry Museum held in the southern wing and cellars of the 18th century Dubniczay Palace in Veszprém. Its name originates from the Roman word "tegula" meaning an antique roof-tile. The Hungarian word for brick - tégla - is also rooted in this word.
Kisszentgrót used to be a small village close to the town of Zalaszentgrót during medieval times, but by now it has become part of the town. Ruins of the former gothic Franciscan monastery of Kisszentgrót can still be seen today.
One of the earliest Premonstratensian abbey churches, it was built by French masters around 1230 and has remained almost unchanged. Originally Romanesque, it was subsequently refurbished in an early Gothic-Gothic style. In the 16th century the building suffered damage several times and was restored only in the 18th century. The main facade was rebuilt in Baroque style and the porch also received a Baroque frame. It was restored in Neo-gothic style by Kálmán Lux between 1920 and 1921.
This cemetary chapel dedicated to King St. Stephen was built by King Ladislaus according to the popular tradition. Its sanctuary is Romanesque (13th century),while the nave and the small tower is gothic (14th century). The chapel was partially rebuilt in the 18th century and was restored in 1982.